Across The Universe

 
 

There’s something about Fiona’s calming voice that keeps me coming back to this song. I remember there was a time when I kept playing it on repeat, staring off to the distance while hanging onto the repeated mantra: nothing’s going to change my world. I wanted somebody to reassure me, even if it was a singer with a piercing gaze, that despite everything that’s happening, I’d still have something to hold onto. That changes won’t erode me entirely of my understanding how the world works. Somehow, I’m no longer in that position where I’m simply trying to zone out. I’m no longer using this song as a comfort blanket. If anything, it asserts what I believe to be true: nothing’s going to change my world. Nothing will deter.

This is probably the best song to get high to … not that I would know.

Leave a Reply

