UnRepresented KL: The Reading

It is now June and the moment that I’ve been waiting for is finally here:

Not entirely sure why the theme is #FAST.

 

The UnRepresented KL group will be reading out our works in The Cooler Lumpur Festival 2014!

This is cool and scary at the same time. I had actually attended this festival last year but just as a casual attendee. So it’s awesome that this year, I’ll be presenting my own work to an audience. What a year of a difference. It’s also scary because as I recall, there were many familiar faces in the local literary scene attending this festival too. Oh and did I mention they are planning to have a Q and A session at the end of the reading? So, not only will I be reading my work to a roomful of strangers but I might possibly face questions from them about my work too. No pressure.

I’m just going to call it right now that Al will receive the most questions because a) he’s the only one reading a poem and b) the poem is intense. You have to be there to find out though!

The Cooler Lumpur Festival, as a whole, is at its infancy. This year is only their second year running! It has a multidisciplinary approach so there will be talks, performances and what have you. There were quite a few booksellers as well so if you’re going, remember to bring cash! I checked out their schedule and, true to the format of last year’s, the events will be scattered all over Publika, the mall where this festival will take place.

Unfortunately for us, we have Amir Muhammad’s session also happening during our session. This man is basically a local bookworms magnet so I’m sure everybody will flock over there. However, if you’re reading this, I hope you will come over to our side? We have cookies (figurative ones)! Just head down to Publika during these times:

Date: 22 June 2014

Time: 2 – 4pm

Location: Upstairs at Ben’s. And when I mean “Upstairs”, I mean there is a staircase inside Ben’s restaurant which will lead you to the venue. The secrecy of this location is really just to add up to the ambiance. Need to appeal to hipsters.

Anyway, in the coming days, I will be meeting up with the other participants as the organisers already set us up with a speech coach. Yes, someone will teach us how to present that day so we can perform at our best for all of you! Hope to see you there!

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

