Truly Yours, Ophelia

my name is ophelia
i swim in the river
but my pessimism
grabs me by the ankles

my eyes are broken
slivers slice through
my eyelashes
every man i see now
is my hamlet
you have to understand
my eyes were clear cut
diamonds
now they’re glass
ice glass
my tears dissolve them

grapple in your blindness, ophelia
gather the waves
clamber into them
you are swaying but
trust, it is your bed
sleep now
finally

insanity is our
professed love

our madness
frozen
like my river bed


Written in Gombak, 2009.

Leave a Reply

