Bathwater

You and your museum of lovers
The precious collection you’ve housed in your covers
My simpleness threatened by my own admission

And the bags are much too heavy
In my insecure condition
My pregnant mind is fat full with envy again

I was driving today when a familiar song came on the radio. It was a No Doubt song and while I was singing along to it, I just remembered something: No Doubt was the reason I started writing poetry.

Sure, I wish my first dip into writing poems was more “poetic” or meaningful but, really, it was No Doubt. I was 14 years old and just bought their “Greatest Hits” CD with all the popular singles such as “Spiderwebs”, “Sunday Morning” and the song above. I was completely hooked. I think I listened to that CD hours everyday.

The lyrics to their songs are always fantastic: loaded with metaphors, brilliant imageries and there’s always a fun vibe to them. My teenage self wanted to create my own cheeky lines … So, I did. I sent in a poem to my school magazine and they published it in the yearbook that year! Published poet, you see. I hit the big time at 14.

So, there you go. Thank you, No Doubt. Now, just … stop making music.

Leave a Reply

