So, that’s what you’ve missed out on…

No, this is not a recap of an episode from Glee (although, seriously, when will that show be cancelled?).

WordPress nudged me recently with an email, saying that I haven’t updated this blog this week. Thanks, WordPress, you’re like my mom if my mom knew what WordPress is. 

It’s weird, living life without a routine. You assume that you will get a lot done and your life will be topsy-turvy of things and more things! And it’s just not. I know, I am entirely responsible with how much productivity that is happening in my life as of right now. You pen-pushers out there are probably resentful with how I’m wasting my free time but really, guys, it’s not all that it cracked up to be. For one thing, not having a routine means higher chances of you procrastinating since you have no deadlines whatsoever. Regardless of what I just said, things are actually happening! That’s another weird thing, since you don’t have a structure in your life, you’re not entirely sure if things are happening or not happening. I’m going to list it down here and let you decide:

1. If it wasn’t clear from the paragraph above, I am currently unemployed. It’s a rather sticky situation and I’m actually hindered to go into specifics (mumble mumble corporate life). What you need to know is that I have decided to take a break from any employment because I can’t decide what I want to do with my life yet. Next week will be my one-month anniversary in not working. I know some people strive with unbridled freedom, I’ve realised earlier on that I am much more calm when I have a routine in place.

2. So, here’s the better news and the reason behind me not flipping through the classified ads just yet: I will be having a long holiday in the US in May! I will be travelling through Idaho, Nevada and California for a whopping 16 days with my family. We’ve been planning this since last year. I’m really excited and I’ve been trying to save as much money as I can so I could enjoy myself proper. This will be my therapy thanks to my exit from employment, truth to be told. But because I’ll be missing a good 12 working days, I’m a little reluctant to have a headstart in another company because I know this will be an issue. You don’t want to hire somebody who will be immediately not available. 

3. You thought that’s simple right? No. If you know me personally or have been reading my earlier blog posts, you will know that I am currently applying for my Masters in the UK. I have done the hard part back in February and waited. And now, the results are in: I’ve got an offer to study in the University of Durham! 😀 (This deserves an emoticon so there!) So, yes, a lot of things are happening and they’re big things. God knows how I’ve been handling this emotionally. For one thing, Durham is my first option and to know that I’ve actually got it… It hasn’t sunk in yet. I’m trying to snag funding for this so I’ve been suppressing my own emotions until it’s confirmed that I am Durham-bound. No money, no Durham, simple as that. So, I’ve been keeping things cool and having my options open. I will find out in mid-April if I do receive funding. Until then, I’m not doing any preparations yet. I am a realist!

We are just sneaking into April but, so far, my 2014 has been insane. There are many plans to be made but they’re sort of related to one another so it’s another round of the waiting game for me before everything falls into place. I really hope things will go my way this year. On a more recent event, UnRepresented KL is already moving onto its last leg:

4. We had our Week 5 last week and in a couple of days, we are going for Week 6 (there are 10 weeks altogether). Last Wednesday, we’ve already sent in our first draft of our writing to the organisers and Bernice Chauly, who happens to be our next guest speaker. If you’re familiar with the Malaysian literary scene, you know she’s a force to be reckoned with. And she will be commenting on our work alongside the organisers! I am incredibly anxious about this because I am my worst critic. Also, we get to read the works of everyone else in this programme and, to be honest, I am slightly cowed by them. I am this close to chucking everything and rewriting it from scratch. I’ll wait until I hear everybody else’s comments before I do something crazy. 

 

So that’s that. I know I’ve said I’m not doing anything much, which is true. You know what they say, the days are long but the years are short.There are a lot of things going on but, at the same time, not really? I’ll stop here.

You are now updated with my life!

3 thoughts on “So, that’s what you’ve missed out on…

Leave a Reply

